WC2 Map



City University London

City University London was established in 1894 as the Northampton Institute with Electrical Engineering and Horology as its main academic disciplines. It received its Royal Charter in 1966.

City University London is a leading global university, committed to academic excellence and with a focus on business and the professions. City is the University of the City of London with strong links to the City not least because the Lord Mayor of London is our Chancellor.

City has a global reputation with over 18,000 students (36% at postgraduate level) from more than 160 countries and academic staff from over 60 countries. We are among the top five per cent of universities in the world (Times Higher Education World Rankings 2015) and the top 10 UK universities for graduate starting salaries (latest Destinations of Leavers from Higher Education survey (DHLE), 2012-13).

City has five Schools:

  • Cass Business School

  • School of Mathematics, Computer Science and Engineering

  • School of Health Sciences

  • School of Arts and Social Sciences

  • The City Law School

City is located in the heart of the city, meaning our students are close to the capital's leading financial legal, media and medical institutions. The University's location means the University has developed an extensive network of global academic partners, international industries and organisations.