WC2 Map


 The General Vice-Chancellors' Office


Universidad Autonoma Metropolitana (UAM)

The Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana (UAM) is a leading Public Institution with 39 years of experience, set up as an innovative, flexible university and is strongly linked to society. 

UAM is organized around a General Vice-Chancellorship with five independent campuses. Four campuses are strategically located in México City (Azcapotzalco, Cuajimalpa, Iztapalapa and Xochimilco). The fifth (Lerma) is located in the nearby State of México. UAM has the following 6 Academic Divisions:

  1. Basic Sciences and Engineering
  2. Biological Sciences and Health
  3. Communications Sciences and Design
  4. Natural Sciences and Engineering
  5. Social Sciences and Humanities
  6. Sciences and Arts for Design

UAM offers 75 undergraduate programmes, 79% of which are certified as “High Quality” by Mexican evaluation boards. UAM has some 54,300 students. At postgraduate level, UAM offers 48 Master and 27 Doctorate programmes, 12 specialisations plus various Diploma courses.  Of all these programmes, 62 have been certified as High Quality, which means that 87% of the UAM’s postgraduate students have access to government scholarships. Due to the quality of UAM’s postgraduate programmes, the university is considered amongst the top Higher Education Institutions in the country.

UAM is acknowledged, nationally and internationally, for its academic standing, its scientific and technological developments, and by its major contribution to society through its 180 research areas.